Welcome to blog! I started it in 2020 to chart my recovery from breaking my ankle (hence the name). I guess no-one saw a global pandemic coming. It's turned into a place where I can talk about the things happening in my life, my horse and my cats. Enjoy!
On the train home from a brilliant day in London helping to run the AGM for one of my clients.
I wasn’t feeling so brilliant when the alarm went off this morning. I’m not sure I’ll ever join the 5am club. It isn’t my best time! I can do it. I’m just not at my most scintillating.
Thankfully after a few coffees and a croissant normal service had been resumed. The whole day ran to plan. Even with a couple of shuffles in the agenda. We had a hybrid meeting. So people in the room as well as on zoom. I was there to make sure both ran smoothly.
Another good day in the office. Virtually and physically.
Back home after another great camp. It was an emotional week for many reason. Camp is such a happy place for me. Time away from it all with good mates and Buddy.
So many more memories to add to the camp collection. And another camper rosette too. We came 4th in the jumping competition. I know I’ve ridden better but we went clear and it was a meaty course.
We won’t mention the utter car crash that was our dressage test. Good to know that even though we’re making progress in so many areas, we still make an absolute horlicks of pretty trotting.
Still there were definitely more pros than cons to my camp experience.
Talking of experiences, the journey back was certainly one.
The fan belt went on the Buddymobile not long after I’d left Swaffham. Managed to limp it to the garage at Necton. Fun times with no power steering!!
My knight in Hi-Viz then drove to Dereham to get a replacemen fan belt and fitted it in the pouring rain. Buddy was as cool as a cucumber on the lorry while we waited. I was definitely not. I was rocking the drowned rat, overly tired and slightly emotional look.
Still we were soon on our way again. Then got stuck on A47 and my diesel went from 1/4 tank to light on. Cue minor freak out!! But as soon as we started moving, it went back up to 1/4 tank. Bizzare.
Stopped at the next petrol station to get more, just in case.
It took us nearly 3 hours to get back. A journey that normally takes just over an hour. I’ll have to sort the lorry out on Sunday. For now, it’s bed for me ready for my 5:15am alarm call tomorrow as I’m working in London for the day. No rest for me!!
Another fab day at camp. This morning it was a play on the XC field. Many moons ago, Buddy and I had an issue with tyre jumps. So I’ve done the classic ‘let’s not do them’.
Today I faced that particular demon and not only that, we jumped the big tyres for good measure. Buddy was loving it! And I had the biggest smile.
Oh and the best bit?! I’ve got another cracking photo for the collection. I can feel a camp montage coming on.
Fear not, the only thing that’s died is my bucket. This is the result of someone having a teenager tantrum because they’d eaten all of their recovery mash. I fear I may have created a monster!
He got a bit of a time-out after that.
Thankfully he was exemplary in his two lessons today. First up was jumping. Finally we’ve cracked the perfect canter that Caroline’s been asking for. Only taken me 6 years!
This afternoon it was flat work with Jo. She put me in resistance bands. Well that was an experience! Not sure my thighs will be the same after that. But definitely helped with my lower leg.
In between, Buddy popped on the Spillers weigh-bridge. He’s now 646kg. Which sounds like a lot, but he’s all muscle. He got a perfect body score.
It’s so lovely to hear how well he’s looking. From many people. Sadly my bucket has seen better days…
Arrived at Forest Edge for our latest training camp. Buddy is such a pro at camp life. And so am I. It doesn’t feel that long ago that we were here before. Well I guess it has only been a few weeks. Feels very good to be back.
We took the horses out for a leg stretch before the welcome BBQ. We honestly didn’t get lost. We just took the slightly scenic route. Pip Nav was actually right. But we ended up adding on an extra loop. Made it back for foo though.
We’re not lost, you are?!
Looking forward to the first lessons tomorrow. Bring on the learning, aching and sweating…
I’m not surprised these two are tired. We all had a broken night’s sleep.
I was woken up at 1am by a cat fight on the roof. I thought they were going to come through the roof! Hugo was wailing so loudly. Woke me up with such a start.
Got up to see what was going on. Found Hugo was hiding on the conservatory roof. And Dodo was on the garage roof. Both looked very shaky.
Cue me on some steps checking them. Thankfully they were both OK.
Saw there was another stray cat in the garden. This one only had one ear! Guessing it was involved in the wailing.
The kittens spent most of the day asleep. Needless to say, I didn’t. But I am all packed ready for the start of Big Camp tomorrow.
I headed back to the Showground today. This time without Buddy. Typically it was much cooler today. I was soon regretting my decision to wear shorts. After being a hot mess yesterday, I was verging on chilly.
Of course, it could have been that I was there for 7:30am to plait my first horse of the day. In fact I’d plaited both my charges before lunch.
Both judges were very complimentary about the turnout. Always lovely to hear when you do your best to make sure the horses look as good as they can. First horse came first, second came second. Very happy riders too!
That meant the afternoon was free to watch some of the jumping. Well I say that, I didn’t see that much. I kept bumping into people I knew. All in all, a very lovely day.
My own hair is usually a bit of a mess, but I can definitely plait a horse.
Buddy and I headed over to the Showground for a spot of showjumping today. I left the yard and it didn’t feel too hot. I was wrong. It was baking by the time we arrived.
Tacked Buddy up and headed to walk the 70cm course. Thankfully someone was able to hold him for me. It walked well so headed to the warm up. It was a bit of a different set up. There was a very small warm up next to the ring. They were only letting 4 horses at a time in there, so we used the bigger warm up away from the ring.
Buddy managed to trip a few times on the uneven ground so I kept the jumping to a minimum. Soon it was our turn the go to the proper warm up and Buddy was feeling good.
Slight blip when a woman decided to walk her inhand pony and two children through the warm up. Madness! Buddy was not happy about that either. It was such a small area and people jumping – it was downright dangerous.
The warm up ring can be like going into battle at the best of times.
I brushed it off and entered the ring. It was single phase and we went double clear in a really fast time. Took a few ‘eventer’ lines and Buddy was on it! He ate up the ground.
He was so sweaty by the time we’d finished, I thought I’d take him back to the lorry and wash him off while I waited for the next class. I’m so lucky that Buddy is so easy when we go out.
Wandering back to the ring, I arrived as the last rider was finishing. Imagine my surprise when they announced we’d come second! So happy.
Walked the 80cm and went back to tack Buddy up again. I nearly blinded myself as I had so much sweat running in my eyes. My god, sweat stings! I was a dribbly mess by the time I was done. I couldn’t get my gloves on as my hands were so wet. Classy huh?!
By the time we got back to the warm up, Buddy was feeling as hot and bothered as I was. Neither of us was at our best in the 80cm round. I messed up some of the line and it was a very twisty course. Final result was 16 faults.
I was disappointed as I know we could do so much better. But we started together, finished together and sweated even more together!
I had a visitor today while I was working. This little butterfly flew in and landed on the carpet next to me. After I took the photo, it flew up and landed on my trousers. So I walked out into the garden so it could fly off. And managed to keep Dodo (aka butterfly killer) away.
As a kid, we used to call them flutterbys. I guess it’s an apt name for them. As they literally flutter by. Can’t say I get the connection to butter. Anyone know?!
I was recently recommended to try coconut water as it’s good for natural hydration. I’ve been trying to remember to take my electrolytes but it’s a bit hit and miss.
What’s also a bit hit and miss is my ability to tolerate coconut. I’m good with a Bounty, but not dried coconut, milk or cream. So I was a bit apprehensive about trying it.
Thought I’d be brave. Again, it was a bit hit and miss. I wasn’t affected by it. I just didn’t like the taste. It doesn’t taste like coconut. In fact, I’m not sure what it tasted like.
The only way I could drink it was to water it down significantly. Guess it’s one way to hydrate!